Skip to main content

Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Mod Kart, JR2 Kart & RZR 170 Class Update

Monday, July 15, 2019

Mod Kart

It’s been some time since the young drivers of the Mod Kart division last took to the track in the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series. After just two rounds, there’s been a variety of contenders, with Brody Eggleston and Mason Prater capturing the wins at Glen Helen and Wild Horse Pass, respectively.

514 Brody Eggleston

Based on his performance at the opening round, it looked like Eggleston was set to make himself the driver to beat in the division, but he encountered misfortune in Chandler, Arizona. That not only proved to be a huge blow to Eggleston’s title hopes, but it also allowed Prater to grab the momentum and the championship lead. That victory has allowed Prater to move out to an advantage of 12 points over Braden Chiaramonte, who is the only driver in Mod Kart to finish on the podium in each race.

505 Mason Prater

Not far behind the top two sits John Holtger, whose runner-up finish in Chandler moved him into third, 17 points out of first. Bronsen Chiaramonte is the fifth different Mod Kart driver to earn a podium result in 2019, and he sits fourth in the championship, 27 points behind Prater.

544 John Holtger

The Mod Kart field will make its anticipated return to action at Wild West Motorsports Park in Sparks, Nevada, at the end of July.

JR2 Kart

While there have only been two rounds of action for the JR2 Kart division in the 2019 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, the championship battle is shaping up to be one of the most exciting of all the classes.

407 Cade Martin

Thus far, Cade Martin and Broedy Graham have shown themselves to be the elite young drivers in the class. Graham made the first statement of the season by taking the win at the season opener from Glen Helen, but Martin stole the momentum and the points lead by storming to victory at Wild Horse Pass. Graham minimized the damage by finishing in the runner-up spot, and now a scant three points separate them in the championship standings.

466 Broedy Graham

As the only two drivers to finish on the podium at both rounds, it will be difficult for the likes of Braydon Beatty and Chaden Zane Minder, the division’s other two podium finishers this season, to gain ground on their rivals.

405 Braydon Beatty

This is one of the most evenly matched classes in the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, and given how young the competitors in JR2 Kart are, the championship could very well boil down to which driver makes the least amount of mistakes over the remainder of the season. The next phase of this battle will unfold at Sparks, Nevada’s Wild West Motorsports Park at the end of July.

415 Chaden Zane Minder

RZR 170

The newest class of the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series is where the future stars of the sport will cut their teeth in short-course racing. These young drivers have just two rounds of action under their belt this season, but it’s been exciting to watch the young, fresh talent on display.

101 TJ Siewers

While he’s yet to win this season, a pair of runner-up finishes have put TJ Siewers atop the championship standings. However, his lead is anything but comfortable as George Llamosas sits just four points behind in second. Like Siewers, Llamosas is still chasing his first win as well, but back-to-back third-place finishes have put him in the thick of the title fight.

188 George Llamosas

In third you’ll find the first of two winners this season, with Ryder Chapman taking the checkered flag at the class’ most recent round at Wild Horse Pass in Arizona. That victory has loomed large for Chapman, as it leaves him 10 points out of the point lead. The opening round winner from Glen Helen, Ryder VanBeekum, endured through a tough outing at the second round from Wild Horse Pass, and as a result he has his work cut out for him to try and erase a 35-point deficit in the standings.

132 Ryder Chapman

The debut season for RZR 170 will continue at the end of July, when the championship’s youngest drivers return to action at Wild West Motorsports Park in Sparks, Nevada.

164 Ryder VanBeekum